Archive for November 27, 2011


Volunteering is Rewarding

Volunteering is a fun and rewarding experience! Volunteering is a great way to give back to the community and make a difference in the world. Not only is volunteering fun but, it can also help you meet many inspiring people.

The time I was a volunteer at St.Louis Children’s Hospital was a life-changing experience.  I was excited when I found out that if I attended volunteer orientation I could be an official St.Louis Children’s Volunteer. After orientation, I received a volunteer hospital polo and my very own badge. I was eager to help make a difference in the world.

My first day was on a Saturday, and I remember fighting the downtown weekend traffic to make it on time to the hospital. Not only did I have to fight traffic to get there but, it was my first time driving through downtown on my own; which was very nerve-racking. After the drive being very stressful, I was a little nervous  but, the security guard put me right at ease and told me I was assigned to the Patient Playroom. The patient playroom is a place where the patients and their families come in and play with toys and games. I was scared because I had no idea what to do in the playroom until a little girl came in and started to bowl.  It was pure joy that crossed her face every time she got a strike. She was very appreciative of me helping her put the pins up and her smile made me forget all about the traffic I had to fight to get there.

The Patient Playroom was a very fun and exciting room to work in and I met many amazing children and their inspiring parents while volunteering. I am so happy that I was able to be a volunteer at St.Louis Children’s Hospital!

After watching the movie, Race: The Power of Illusion, I realized how much emphasis is put on race and cultural background. It has been almost one-hundred and fifty years since slavery was abolished and Americans are still holding onto  racial prejudices.  The movie discusses how some scientist tried to ascribe race to a biological difference and give reasoning to the thought that some races are superior. The idea that one race is superior to another is appalling to  me. I truly believe that everyone is created equal and that everyone should be treated as such.

Race: The Power of Illusion, opened my eyes to what many minorities have to face everyday. Racism ranges from being looked at funny in grocery stores, being passed up for jobs, or even  being beaten up or murdered just because of skin color. Skin color is not a choice and does not give anyone special abilities or superiority. The idea of separating people into groups, Caucasian, Hispanic,  African-American, or any assortment of other races, is just a way of distinguishing people by physical characteristics. The movie in the end reminds the audience that race is just an idea and that we should not attribute any stereotypes to any particular race.

My friend Emily discovered a very interesting charity when we were doing research for a school project. The organization, Vitamin Angels has helped many children worldwide. Vitamin Angels provides vitamins for children who are at-risk for malnutrition. The goal of Vitamin Angels is provide vitamins to all children under five who are considered at-risk for health problems.

It all began with one man asking himself the question, “What do I want to be remembered for?” and after finding inspiration from the 1994 Eathquake in Southern California the Vitamin Angel organization was established.

The vitamin that they specialize in is vitamin A which with only two doses a year can save a child’s life. The amazing thing is that Vitamin Angels can provide the yearly dose of Vitamin A for just $0.25! This charity is cost effective in the fact that they provide the most vitamins for the least amount of money.I find this organization a great way to give back to the world. This Christmas, I plan to donate to this charity under my siblings names instead of giving gifts to my sisters.

If you are interested in donating to this worthy cause,would like to volunteer, or just want to know more about this organization; the website below has all the information that you would need regarding Vitamin Angels.

http://www.vitaminangels.org/home